COMMISSIONERS PROCEEDINGS JANUARY 4, 2022

Sanborn County Commissioners met in regular session on Tuesday, January 3, 2023, at 9:00 am, with Jeff Ebersdorfer, Steve Larson, Paul Larson, Gary Blindauer, and Duane Peterson present. Auditor Kami Moody was also present.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS

This being the annual reorganization of the Board of County Commissioners, the county auditor called for nominations for chairman of the board. Steve Larson nominated Jeff Ebersdorfer. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer that nominations cease. Motion carried. Ebersdorfer will be Chairman. Ebersdorfer called for nominations for vice-chairman. Blindauer nominated Steve Larson. Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Peterson, that nominations cease. Motion carried. Steve Larson will be the vice-chairman. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by S. Larson, to approve the minutes from the December 27, 2022, meetings as presented. Motion carried.

OATH OF OFFICE

Elected and Re-elected officials took the Oath of Office for the following positions:

Jeff Ebersdorfer - Commissioner District 1

Duane Peterson – Commissioner District 3

Gary Blindauer – Commissioner District 5

Kami Moody - Auditor

Lynn Brueske – Register of Deeds

Tom Fridley – Sheriff

CITIZENS INPUT

No public was in attendance for input.

HIGHWAY

Sheri Kogel, Highway Administrative Assistant, met with the board. Sheri gave updates on how road clearing, and equipment repairs are going. Sheri had 1 of the 2 requested quotes for fuel pump replacement. We will wait until the next meeting in hopes that we will have another quote available. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson to approve the three township applications for the Rural Access Infrastructure Plan. Motion carried. The Rural Access Infrastructure Plan is a State Funded Grant program, to help Townships with the cost of replacing failing structures on Township Roads.

Afton Township - \$33,715

Woonsocket Township - \$23,208

Ravenna Township - \$16,976

APPOINTMENTS AND FEES

Chairman Ebersdorfer made the following appointments: Mental Health Board/Drug – Alcohol Board, Paul Larson; District III: Jeff Ebersdorfer; 4-H Advisory Board: Steve Larson; Sanborn Co Rural Development: Jeff Ebersdorfer; County Planner: Penny Farris; Economic Development Board: Duane Peterson; SD Housing Authority Board: Jeff Ebersdorfer; Drainage Board: Gary Blindauer and Paul Larson; Planning & Zoning: Duane Peterson; Emergency Management Director: Josh Starzman. Motion by Blindauer, seconded by S. Larson to approve the appointments. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Blindauer, that the following places be designated for holding chattel mortgage sales in Sanborn County for 2023: Front Door of Courthouse, City of Woonsocket; Between Block Four and Five, Original Plat, Town of Letcher; The public street on the North side of the Cortrust Bank, City of Artesian. Motion carried.

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to designate Cortrust Bank of Artesian, First National Bank South Dakota, Dakotaland Federal Credit Union, SD Public Funds Investment Trust (FIT), as Legal Depositories and the Sanborn Weekly Journal as the legal newspaper. Motion carried.

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve expenses for CO Commissioners, CO Officials, and CO Employees to attend all scheduled meetings pertaining to CO Business for 2023; to set mileage (.51 per mile) and Meals (\$6, \$14, \$20) at State Rates; to pay bills at each meeting; to establish a cost of \$2,400.00 for County burial or Cremation plus \$.75 per mile within the State; and to declare old iron, used bridge planks, old culvers, used tires and old parts as surplus with maximum value of \$1000. Motion carried.

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by S. Larson to set the commissioners' salary at \$8250 annually, plus insurance, no mileage; to set the wage for extra part-time help for the Register of Deed, Treasurer, Auditor, Sheriff's Office and Janitor at the wage of \$15.00; to set the wages for meeting of extension, planning & zoning, and drainage at the rate of \$60, no mileage; set the wage of election workers at \$200 plus mileage per day and to pay \$35 plus mileage for school of instruction, if attended; and to pay \$50 per month for Cell Phone usage to Deputy Sheriff & Highway Superintendent. Motion carried.

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by P. Larson to use the state bid list for county purchases. Motion carried.

Motion by Peterson, seconded by P. Larson to establish four (4) or less voting precincts. Motion carried.

Precincts will be as follows:

Precinct #1: Afton, Floyd, Benedict, Oneida, Artesian City, Diana, Union, Ravenna -

Artesian Community Center

Precinct #2: Butler, Letcher, Letcher City, Logan, & Elliott –

Letcher Community Center

Precinct #4: Jackson, Twin Lake, Woonsocket Township, Silver Creek Township, Woonsocket City Ward 2-

Woonsocket Community Center

Precinct #5: Woonsocket City Wards 1 & 3, Warren Township –

Woonsocket Community Center

By agreement of the board, the annual meeting with towns and townships will be on February 7 at 1:00 pm at the 4-H Building.

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson that the Register of Deeds will submit the money collected in that office each month to the treasurer by the 20th of the following month and the Sheriff by the 15th. Motion carried.

Motion by S. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve the ambulance roster on file in the auditor's office. Motion carried.

Motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson to move to executive session at 9:58, for personal matters. Motion carried. Ebersdorfer declared the end of executive session at 10:36 am.

REPORTS & BILLS

Auditor and Treasurer in all accounts \$2,660,304.93 Register of Deeds \$ 1,558.00

Motion by P. Larson, seconded by Blindauer to approve the following salaries for staff for the year 2023. Motion carried. Salaries including the insurance incentive are as follows:

	_	
Tom Fridley, Sheriff	Annually	\$60,320.00
Josh Starzman, Deputy Sheriff	Annually	\$45,552.00
Josh Starzman, Emergency Management	Annually	\$7,100.00
Mike Salathe, Deputy Sheriff	Annually	\$42,016.00
Naomi Terkildsen, Secretary	Annually	\$35,360.00
Jeff Larson, States Attorney	Annually	\$49,524.80
Penny Farris, Director of Equalization	Annually	\$48,880.00
Elizabeth Hoffman, Clerk	Annually	\$34,840.00
Karen Krueger, Treasurer	Annually	\$52,894.40
Kami Moody, Auditor	Annually	\$52,894.40
Abby Mathis, Deputy Auditor & Treasurer	Annually	\$34,840.00
Lynn Brueske, Register of Deeds	Annually	\$52,894.40
Jodi Schrank, Deputy Register of Deeds	Annually	\$34,840.00
Steve Larson, Commissioner	Annually	\$8,250.00
Gary Blindauer, Commissioner	Annually	\$8,250.00
Paul Larson, Commissioner	Annually	\$8,250.00
Jeff Ebersdorfer, Commissioner	Annually	\$8,250.00
Duane Peterson, Commissioner	Annually	\$8,250.00
Stacy Mendenhall, Highway Superintendent	Annually	\$54,766.40
Sheri Kogel, Office Manager	Annually	\$46,446.40
Jamie Miller, Janitor	Annually	\$36,400.00
Sherryl Rankin, Secretary	Hourly	\$15.25
Dayna Opsahl, Secretary	Hourly	\$15.50
Brian Pearson, Highway	Hourly	\$23.52
Heath Larson, Highway	Hourly	\$17.93
Alan Larson Jr, Highway	Hourly	\$17.93
James Gorter, Highway	Hourly	\$17.50
Richard Miller, Highway	Hourly	\$17.50
Stuart Christian, Highway	Hourly	\$17.50
Alex Burkel, Highway	Hourly	\$17.25

There being no further business before the board, motion by Blindauer, seconded by Peterson to adjourn the meeting at 10:41 am. Motion carried. The next regular scheduled meeting will be held on Tuesday January 17, 2023.		
Kami Moody	Jeff Ebersdorfer	
Sanborn County Auditor	Chairman of the Board, Sanborn County	