Planning & Development DISTRICT III

Welcome to our website

Planning and Development District III is a voluntary association of county, municipal and Tribal governments. Its mission is to provide comprehensive development assistance to its membership and the private sector. The district offers a full range of services that help the region maintain public services and expand economic opportunities. The association is governed by a committee of elected officials, non-profit organization representatives and business interests. The district employs a professional staff with extensive experience in a variety of development and technical fields.

March 2015 NewsLetter

Comprehensive Economic Development Strategy (CEDS)

for Planning and Development District III (30 day public review) is the result of a local planning process designed to guide the economic growth of the region. It is produced yearly with funds provided by the U.S. Department of Commerce - Economic Development Administration (EDA). (This is a large file it will take some time to download, please be patient)2013 CEDS

Planning & Development District III - Region

Planning and Development District III service area includes 16 counties in South Central South Dakota - Aurora, Bon Homme, Brule, Charles Mix, Davison, Douglas, Gregory, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jerauld, Lyman, Mellette, Sanborn, Tripp, and Yankton. Within our 16 counties are 3 Tribal Governments - Crow Creek, Lower Brule Sioux, and Yankton Sioux. Also within our service area are 62 cities. The total population of the region is 100,582 with 13,218 square miles.

District III Service Area